• 88°

Fuqua School holds Academic Awards Assembly

Three Fuqua School students, Cum Laude inductees David John Hice, Clayton Stone Tucker and Thomas Frederick Watson, were inducted into the Cum Laude Society at the Upper School Academic Awards recently. Each inductee received a Cum Laude pin, certificate and signed the chapter membership book. These members of the Class of 2016 are the first three inductees for this academic year; the final three will be inducted during a spring ceremony.

The Cum Laude Society, an international organization founded in 1906, recognizes the top 20 percent of each senior class based on grade point average and is dedicated to honoring scholastic achievement in secondary schools.  Fuqua School is one of 16 schools in Virginia to have membership in the Cum Laude Society. 

Fuqua School also recognized student achievement in the Scholars Program, which inducts students in grades 10, 11 and 12 based on their academic record the previous school year.  Qualifying students are recognized as Presidential Scholars (all As), Dean’s List Scholars (all As and Bs) and Merit List Scholars (3.0 GPA with no grade less than a C-minus). 

President’s List: Paavan Sai Bonagiri, Robert Evan Burns, Jamie Rose Carkenord, Brad-Edward Rawlings Davis, Sarah Jane French, Morgan Taylor Lindsay, Naomi Hosanna Painter, Hannah Wilson Smith, Eleanor Grace Vick, Claire Virginia Watson, Thomas Frederick Watson.  Dean’s List: Mary Grace Amos, Marin Ainsleigh Brandon Angle, Benjamin Alexander Bailey, Minyue “Zoey” Chen, Ashley Elizabeth Chipman, Rebekah Morgan Cole, Anna Greye Cyrus, Michael James Davis, Kevin Bruce Dunn, Jr., Hannah Danielle Eason, Nicholas John Fariss, William Hamilton French, Taylor Ann Frink, Tyler Joseph Frink, Carly Marie Garwood, Maxmillian James Gebauer, Hunter Pratt Gilliam, Clarence Elijah Hall, Katherine Saint John Haney, Jordyn Nicole Harris, David John Hice, Thomas Cody Howard, Jesse Clark Hudgins, Emily Nicole Jefferson, Carson Seay Johnson, Savannah Grace Mahan, Alexa Renee Marzloff, Abigail Jean Morrow, Madison Ann Pace, Hannah Grace Palmore, Alexander Mitchell Clark Patterson, Jalen Todd Patteson, Curtis Richard Rogers, Kendall Elizabeth Schmidt, Noah James Shepherd, Nitalia Rose Summa, Brinley Elizabeth Thomas, Michael Paul Thornton, Jr., Mary Charlotte Townsend, Brandon Scott Trombley, Clayton Stone Tucker, Ethan Hunter Watson, David Hampton White III, Charles Peyton Wiecking. Merit List: Devin Clay Allen, Maybelle Blossom Bourne, Nicholas Martin Davis, Jeffrey Todd Fariss, Samantha Ariel Fowlkes, Kevin Miller Hicks, William Andrew Horton, Chaundra Alyse Jones, Jonathon Ethan Kelly, Andrew Nicholas Murphy, Clayton Nathaniel Osborn, William Cary Robertson, Lauren Cecelia Stimpson.

Also honored at the assembly were students being inducted into various academic societies.  Fuqua School has eight academic societies, each designed to recognize academic excellence and strong interest in specific content areas.  Interested students who meet the eligibility criteria must apply for membership.  This year, Fuqua School added the Tri-M Music Honor Society, a program of the National Association for Music Educators for recognizing students for their continued service in solo and ensemble performance at school and in the community.   

Tri-M Society inductees were: Jenna Armes, Emily Jefferson, Noah Shepherd, Lauren Stimpson, Nitalia Summa, Stone Tucker, Thomas Watson; Science Society: Kevin Hicks, Emily Jefferson, Andrew Murphy, Alexander Patterson, Curtis Rogers, Stone Tucker, Thomas Watson; History Society: Paavan Bonagiri, Zoey Chen, Jesse Hudgins, Carson Johnson, Abby Morrow, Madison Pace, Alexander Patterson, Brinley Thomas, Ellie Vick, Hampton White, Peyton Wiecking; Applied Industrial Technology: Andrew Murphy; Art: Brinley Thomas, Ellie Vick, Alice Zhong; Society for Excellence in English: Zoey Chen, Brad Davis, Hannah Eason, Sarah-Jane French, Emmie Jefferson, Madison Pace, Alexander Patterson, Curtis Rogers; Spanish Society: David Hice, Abby Morrow, Noah Shepherd, Stone Tucker, Thomas Watson; Math Society: Paavan Bonagiri, Brad Davis, Katie Haney, Emmie Jefferson, Curtis Rogers, Lauren Stimpson, Ethan Watson.

Closing out the program, Head of School John Melton encouraged the students: “While recognition reinforces the qualities we hope to cultivate in all students, it is the daily pursuit of improvement and the learning that comes from making mistakes that builds our character and shapes our view of the world.  We can all give our best effort, learn from our mistakes and realize our own boundless individual potential every day, and when the moments of recognition come — celebrate them!” he said.